Chakra Dhyana Guide: Everything You’ll Ever Need To Know

Chakra dhyana is important for all spiritualists to know. I’ve studied chakra dhyana for many years and would love to pass on my knowledge to you. So, here is everything you need to know about chakra dhyana.

But first, you might like to read my introductory guide to Chakra meditation and my guide to Dhyana meditation.

What follow is the guide for the specific chakra dhyana meditation that is to be used for awakening the kundalini energy inside of you.

DID YOU KNOW: Dhyāna in Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism means meditation which is “a deeper awareness of oneness which is inclusive of perception of body, mind, senses and surroundings, yet remaining unidentified with it”

How to do Chakra Dhyana Meditation Technique

1 : Sit comfortably with good posture, making sure your spine is in proper alignment and that your body is relaxed.


2: Place your hands on your thighs with the palms up. During the Chakra Dhyana meditation technique you will touch the tips of your index fingers to your thumbs in this fashion. During the first 3 chakras touch the tips of the thumb, then the middle of the thumb for the 5th and 6th chakra, then the base of the thumb for the 7th and 8th.

This image shows the seven main chakras used in chakra dhyana meditation technique. The hand mudras are shown along the side.

3: Spend a few minutes doing basic breathing meditation in order to get yourself to relax and to develop focus.


4: From now onwards, you will be focussing your mind on each of the chakras. At the same time as focussing you will be reciting a mantra in a slow fashion.


5: THE ROOT CHAKRA: For the root chakra, which is located between genitals and anus, say “Om Mooladhara” and visualise the colour red. Now repeat the mantra LANG, which should be pronounced LUNG. Finally imagine the chakra turning gold and say the words “Kundalini arohanum” a few times.


6: Next is the Swadhisthana chakra, found at the base of the spine. Visualise the chakra as orange, Say “Om Swadhisthana” then recite “VUNG” before imagining the chakra turning gold. Again say “Kundalini arohanum” a few times.


7: Next we come to the navel and the Manipura chakra. Say “Om Sri Mani Padme Hum” and imagine the chakra being yellow. Recite RUNG, visualise the mantra turning gold and say “Kundalini arohanum” a few times.


8: Now on to the centre of the chest and the Anahata chakra. Say the words “Om Anahata” and imagine the chakra as green. Recite the sound YUNG, imagine the chakra turning gold and say “Kundalini arohanum” a few times.


9: The Vishuddhi chakra is next, which is found in the throat. Say the words, “Om Vishuddhi” visualise the chakra as blue, recite HUNG, imagine it turning gold, recite “Kundalini Arohanum.”


10: now the Ajneya, located between the eyebrows. Say “Om Ajneya” imagine the chakra being indigo, recite AUM, imagine the chakra turning gold, recite “Kundalini Arohanum.”


11: Now the Sahasrara chakra which is in the middle of the forehead. The words to say this time are “Om Sahasrara” the colour is violet, the mantra “Ohum Satyam Om.” Again, imagine the chakra turning gold and recite “Kundalini Arohanum.”


12: Now you need to close your eyes and lie down before continuing.

13: Meditate for 10 minutes in Corpse Pose and relax.

And that’s it, you’ve done chakra dhyana meditation technique  🙂

Paul Martin Harrison

Im on a mission to spread spirituality and enlightenment. How? By writing and teaching. You guys asked me to write a book that will teach you how to meditate properly and how to find enlightenment. Guess what? The book is out now. It's called Welcome To Silence : A Practical Guide To Mindfulness And Meditation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *